BookTube-A-Thon 2016| TBR

Ever since the Booktubathon was created, I’ve wanted to do it. The odds have never been in my favor and I’ve never done it. The first year I had all my books available; my shelf of books I owned was small, but I had just enough to do all the challenges. That entire week I didn’t read a thing. The second year I wasnt able to obtain any books, not even my own, and watched everyone have so much fun doing the video challenges I swore the following year I would participate. Nope. Do to my depression, I had no motivation, nor any desire to participate. But this, year, I’m determined.

A couple of days ago, our beloved creator of this event, Ariel Bissett, released the reading challenge, enabling everyone to create their TBRs (and even a giveaway!).

The reading challenges for the Booktube-a-thon are:

  1. Read a book with yellow on the cover.
  2. Read a book only after sunset
  3. Read a book you discovered through Booktube
  4. Read a book by one of your favorite authors
  5. Read a book that’s older than you
  6. Read a book to movie adaptation
  7. Read seven books

These are all incredibly fun sounding, and I’m really excited. I have a huge TBR pile of books I’ve been meaning to read, and even sadder is the ones I’ve read a couple of chapters and stopped. This is my opportunity to check them off.

I have a total of 8 books, 11 actually, that I want to read this Booktube-a-thon. It’s going to be hard because of work, but I’ll try.


1)book with yellow on the cover

The Serpent King by Jeff Setner.

I received this in my March Owl Crate box, and I have not gotten to read any of it yet.

22752127


2. A book to read only after sunset

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

I started reading this about two weeks ago, and I’m only a few pages in. It’s a perfect pick to read only at night, in my opinion.

A_Monster_Calls


 

3) A book you discovered through Booktube

Night Film by Marisha Pessl.

I bought this book back in January, and started reading it soon after, only getting a couple of chapters in. I never knew this book existed until it popped up on many TBR and wrap up videos around Booktube. I loved the sound of it, and was very excited when I found it in Barnes and Noble on sale. I heard it was really good, and I’ve been wanting to pick it back up and finish it for a while.

o-NIGHT-FILM-facebook.jpg


 

4) a book by one of your favorite authors.

Quidditch Through The Ages, Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, The Tales of The Beedle and The Bard by J.K. Rowling.
I was given these books for Christmas and want to read them so bad, but again, with my lack of motivation to read, I haven’t. They’re pretty short, but J.K is definitely of my favorite authors.

hpbookset


 

5) A book that is older than you.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

I have this huge bind up of four of Austens novels, and P&P was one I started reading a few months ago, but never gotten farther than two chapters. It’s definitely one I want to finish, and one I can safely say is older than me.

pride-and-prejudice-2


6) A book to movie adaptation

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I’m broke right now and I don’t want to buy any books, so I went digging in my already reads for a re-read, and grabbed Twilight. I havent read Twilight since the early summer of 2010 in preparation for Eclipse, In which I did so by reading the first three books again. Since then, there’s been many other series and books I wanted to read instead of re-reading, and I’ve also been very hesitant. Since 2010, ive grown very analytical over novels and the way they are written, and I fear that by re-reading it, I’ll lose whatever love I had for it back then. I rather remember it as it was, than what I think of it now. But i think its time.

Twilightbook.jpg


 

7) Read seven books

During this readathon, I also want to read Hamlet by Shakespeare, and The Time Machine by H.G. Wells, that I had also received in an Owl Crate box (February’s, I believe).

Whats on your TBR? Are you participating this year?

We’ll see if I’ll do the video challenges, too.

((Videos are linked with their announcement!))

Xx

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close